Photo by Mathias Reding on Unsplash

The months are long,

they trickle not as sand in an hourglass

but as stalactites of ice,

voluptious, languid, bitterly cold.

I do not remember you every day

but some days

I can remember nothing else.

If I repeat you

and the mistakes of my life

it is because the space left in your absence

is too great.

Is it a mistake to occupy?

To switch the object

of one’s attention

when nothing can become of it?

Lopsided conversations

and instincts snuggled with disaster,

no one ever speaks of options.

There is only the having and the not having.

What becomes of a love

that cannot find its mark?

They will not leave me

these wistful, decadent dreams.

They kiss me each night

and each morning they rise up

forgetting that you are not here.

Do not leave me with the world.

This world which is in the process of forgetting you

is no place for our love.

Leave a comment